Food Stories
The Food Podcast
Food, Life and Letters with Amy Minichiello
4
0:00
-37:22

Food, Life and Letters with Amy Minichiello

a podcast episode
4

Amy, Vivvy and the flour fairies - photo by @sallyfrawley

Mentioned in this episode - 

Amy Minichiello on Instagram: “I peeled back the delicate layers of the aged roses. The faded peach petals fell in and around the glazed spice-infused, fruit laden buns. The buns. The roses. The timber surface. The knife. Objects, which when you look at, can see clearly. However, it is what was going on behind the scenes during these captured moments that no one but myself saw and felt. Behind the lens was a woman, a wife, a mother, who, only hours beforehand had come crashing down. Her body weighed down by the overwhelming feelings that had been brewing on the inside, followed by tears that raged and rose like the ocean on a stormy day. She couldn’t catch her breath, nor could she pick herself up from the hard timber floor. Her two young children, their backs pressed against the sliding glass doors watched their mummy experience a panic attack. I don’t know how long it lasted, a few minutes would be my guess. Similar to the first one I had when Beau was younger. I was able to slow my breathing and then I just sat there, like a zombie. Unable to move. My ears, however, picked up every sound. Beau was getting dressed (finally) in his school uniform. Vivvy was with him too. They stick together, those two. I picked up the vacuum, which I had thrown down hard on the floor, in a fit of rage, sending the contents of floor debris far and wide and began to clean up. And then I knelt down beside Beau and Vivvy, and without any words I scooped them up and hugged them tight. The days leading up to this point had been hard. I had turned into an angry person. Being a mother is hard, it’s testing. Relentless, day in and day out. But this past week has been a whole new level and I don’t even know why. It has challenged me to the point of eruption…. (Continued in comments)”
April 5, 2023

Episode Credits-
@amy_minichiello_
Episode edited by @abigailcerquitella 
Host @lindsaycameronwilson @thefoodpodcast 
4 Comments
Food Stories
The Food Podcast
The Food Podcast is a show where personal stories are shared through the lens of food. Join host Lindsay Cameron Wilson, a best-selling cookbook author and journalist, as she takes you on an adventure through sound, story, music and memory. Food is the launching point, the portal. Human stories, however, are at the heart of each episode. It's a food and story podcast, if you will, released monthly, after a long simmer, when the flavour it just right.