Food Stories
The Food Podcast
Eat My Joy
1
0:00
-31:59

Eat My Joy

a conversation with artist and chef Amy Funk of Shore Lunch Food Truck
1
Transcript

No transcript...

Here I am, on a sunny day back in October, savouring a Shore Lunch sushi bowl in the sun. I am sitting on a red adirondack on the wharf in Lunenburg, NS. A few tourists are milling around. A ship is tied up in front of me. Water is lapping against its sides. I take this picture then put my phone away. This food takes all my focus. Yellofin tuna. peppery greens. Chickpeas. Seaweed salad. Nori Flakes. Sesame Chickpeas. Miso Whip. Later I will see Amy Funk’s art exhibition at the Lunenburg School of the Arts. Amy is also the chef behind the Shore Lunch food truck. She made this bowl.

This episode is the story of how Amy Funk, and artist and chef who has lived far and wide, has landed here, on the south shore of Nova Scotia. Cooking, painting, and feeding me in the sun.

We discuss life. Hardships. Ingredients. Wanting the big time, and finding it in Nova Scotia. Here in this bowl.

Thanks for listening,

x Lindsay


Links:

Credits
Hosted by Lindsay Cameron Wilson
Edited by Abigail Cerquitella
Theme song is One More Night by Jenn Grant 
Follow: @thefoodpodcast and @lindsaycameronwilson
1 Comment
Food Stories
The Food Podcast
The Food Podcast is a show where personal stories are shared through the lens of food. Join host Lindsay Cameron Wilson, a best-selling cookbook author and journalist, as she takes you on an adventure through sound, story, music and memory. Food is the launching point, the portal. Human stories, however, are at the heart of each episode. It's a food and story podcast, if you will, released monthly, after a long simmer, when the flavour it just right.